February 17, 2023

Dear Members of the Bureau of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly,

During recent statutory meetings, delegations have raised concerns and inquires related to the financial situation of the OSCE PA, as well as the costs and performance of the administrative organisation supporting our effort. As Members of the OSCE PA, we have to take these concerns into serious account and act accordingly to strengthen the Parliamentary Assembly and the support from the International Secretariat.

We ask the Bureau to initiate a business audit of the administrative functions of the OSCE PA. All organisations benefit from regular oversight. In the OSCE executive structure and other international organizations, audits are performed on a regular basis. However, it has not, to our knowledge, been carried out in the Parliamentary Assembly since its foundation more than 30 years ago. A business audit is a comprehensive analysis which would complement the annual financial review of the International Secretariat.

The difficult times facing the OSCE region as a consequence of Russia's unprovoked war of aggression in Ukraine is affecting our work in the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly in all three dimensions of security. Considering this, it is our duty to safeguard the organization and to ensure that we are provided with the best possible support. As members of the Parliamentary Assembly, it is our duty to listen to the concerns of our colleagues and proceed accordingly with a business audit. We also propose that the International Independent Audit company is selected by the President and the Treasurer.

The results of the audit should be presented at the Annual session of the OSCE PA in July 2023 in Vancouver.

Yours sincerely,

Albania

Mr. Damian Gjiknuri

Ms. Ermonela Valikaj

Mr. Helidon Bushati

Mr. Fatmir Mediu

Mr. Petro Koçi

Mr. Blendi Klosi

Armenia

Mr. Sargis Khandanyan

Ms. Maria Karapetyan

Ms. Lilit Galastyan

Ms. Lilit Minasyan

Mr. Artur Hovhannisyan

Canada

Hon. Dr. Hedy Fry

The Hon. David Wells

The Hon. Rosemary Moodie

Mr. John Aldag

Ms. Kristina Michaud

Czech Republic

Ms. Lucie Potuckova

Mr. Hayato Okamura

Ms. Jana Pastuchova

Denmark

Mr. Peter Juel-Jensen

Ms. Sólbjørg Jakobsen

Mr. Kim Valentin

Mr. Kris Jensen Skriver

Mr. Carsten Bach

Mr. Søren Søndergaard

Estonia

Ms Heljo Pikhof

Mr. Sven Sester

Mr. Marko Šorin

Mr. Anti Poolamets

Finland

Mr. Vilhelm Junnila

Ms. Inka Hopsu

Mr. Arto Pirttilahti

Germany

Dr. Daniela De Ridder

Mr. Robin Wagener

Dr. Malte Kaufmann

Dr. Joe Weingarten

Latvia

Mr. Rihards Kols

Ms. Ingrida Circene

Ms. Skaidrite Abrama

Mr. Armands Krauze

Lithuania

Ms. Vilija Aleknaite Abramikiene

Mr. Laurynas Kasciunas

Mr. Giedrius Surplys

Poland

Ms. Barbara Bartuś

Ms. Agnieszka Pomaska

Mr. Radosław Fogiel

Mr. Rafał Adamczyk

Mr. Dariusz Rosati

Mr. Grzegorz Bierecki

Mr. Jacek Włosowicz

Mr. Piotr Polak

Mr. Dariusz Stefaniuk

Portugal

Ms. Paula Cardoso

Mr. Luís Graça,

Ms. Marta Freitas

Mr. Jorge Seguro Sanches

Mr. André Coelho Lima

Ms. Susana Amador

Mr. João Azevedo Castro

Romania

Mr. Ciprian-Titi Stoica

Sweden

Mr. Björn Söder

Mr. Johan Büser

Mr. Denis Begic

Mr. Lars Isacsson

Ms. Linnéa Wickman

Mr. Markus Wiechel

Mr. Ulrik Nilsson

Mr. Kadir Kasirga

Ms. Carina Ödebrink

Ms. Jessica Rodén

Ms. Helena Storckenfeldt

Mr. Sven-Olof Sällström

Mr. Joakim Sandell

Mr. Edward Riedl

Ukraine

Mr. Mykyta Poturaiev

Mr. Yaroslav Yurchyshyn

Mr. Pavlo Frolov

Ms. Iryna Gerashchenkko

Ms. Evgeniia Kravchuk

Ms. Anna Lichman

Ms. Nataliia Pipa

Ms. Viktoriia Podgorna

United Kingdom

Lord Smith of Hindhead

USA

Rep. Steve Cohen

Rep. Gwen Moore